Do you want to test your knowledge and see examples of exam questions? CLICK HERE

If you have more questions about the exam, please visit EBCOG WEBPAGE.

European Fellow of Obstetrics and Gynaecology Exam

The purpose of the Examination is to determine if the candidate demonstrates the minimum level of knowledge recognised by the EBCOG Examination Committee.
The EBCOG Examination assesses the knowledge gained by the candidates during their training in general Obstetrics and Gynaecology. The assessment is extended to the application of this knowledge to clinical cases and is based on the EBCOG training syllabus.

The EFOG-EBCOG Examination consists of 2 parts:
- Part 1 is a Knowledge Based Assessment (KBA);
- Part 2 is a Clinical Skills Assessment (OSCE);
- Participation is subject to eligibility;
- Part 2 of the examination can only be taken after Part 1 has been passed;
- When both parts of the examination have been passed the certificate of the EFOG-EBCOG will be awarded.

Successful candidates will receive the award of European Fellow of Obstetrics and Gynaecology (EFOG) - EBCOG and may use this title. Passing the exam does not confer or imply a license to practice obstetrics or gynaecology in any country of Europe or elsewhere, but successful candidates become EBCOG Fellows in Obstetrics and Gynaecology (EFOG-EBCOG) and will be given a certificate of Fellowship.

The Examination is open to European and non-European Candidates and will be conducted in English. However, the final decision regarding the suitability of candidates is taken by EBCOG Examination Standing Committee after the assessment of the individual’s qualifications.


EBCOG Formative Assessment

Since 2016, EBCOG has been conducting a final summative examination for specialty trainee doctors for the award of “European Fellowship in Obstetrics and Gynaecology – EFOG-EBCOG”.

Following the implementation of European Training Curriculum (PACT) by EBCOG-UEMS, trainees have requested new tools to be introduced for their interim assessment as they progress through their training.

EBCOG is now introducing a formative assessment tool for doctors in early part of their specialist training. This tool will also help trainees to prepare for the final examination. This is open to both training and non training doctors all over the world and will act as a valuable tool for self-assessment at early stage of their training. This
assessment tool will map the newly introduced EBCOG curriculum (PACT).

There are two levels of assessment: Assessment 1 and Assessment 2 can be undertaken at any time following the completion of 1st and 2nd year of training respectively.

These formative assessments are independent of the EFOG-EBCOG exams.
For more information and applications please visit